Hedron Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any additional questions, please leave them in the comments, but if you’re in the middle of a game and want immediate resolution, let the dice guide you. If players disagree on a rule, just roll your dice in flux and let the player with the highest flux result determine the interpretation. You can also download a PDF of the current FAQ with the campaign guide here.

  1. Simple Questions
  2. Ram
  3. Boost
  4. Self-Destruct
  5. Current Hexes

Simple Questions

To start with, here’s some simple clarifications about basic concepts to save you re-reading the rules.

Can I voluntarily end the chain, if I could make a transfer or attack but don’t want to?


If I end movement next more than one enemy hedron, can I attack both?

No (energy transfer is always in a line, whether to friends or enemies, with no forking paths).

Can I enter an enemy hedron’s starting zone (home base)?

Yes. It’s annoying. You should do it!

Can I use all of a hedron’s energy to move?

Yes but probably no. If you use all a hedron’s energy to move that hedron would be immediately destroyed without passing on energy to create a chain. You can do it, but essentially you skip a turn, lose 10 points and put the Hedron in flux. If you’d like to survive after moving to pass on energy, the most you can move is 1 less than your current energy.

What happens if there’s no matching number when placing a hedron?

You can’t place it.


Can I make an attack after playing a Ram card?

As worded, yes. As intended, no. The Ram card is really an alternate attack and should have been worded as such, but after seeing a few new players try to resolve the card, I now realise it is very unclear, and the obvious interpretation is different from the original intent. The final text revision happened in balance testing and simply didn’t get in front of blind playtesters enough. The obvious interpretation makes the ram card more powerful in the perfect situation, allowing players to ram and continue the chain or attack. You may continue playing with the slightly over-powered version of the card, or play with the revised wording.


ATTACK To make this attack you must move into a hex occupied by another hedron. Push that hedron 1 hex in your direction of movement, plus 1 additional hex each unused energy in the chain. This replaces the Basic Attack.

Also a non-frequently asked question is: can you ram your own hedron? The answer is yes, and this is a great way of clearing out a vulnerable hedron from a points hex without leaving it vacant.


Can I use Boost to increase a hedron’s energy beyond it’s maximum?

Yes. Boost works in the opposite way of Spike. You can damage (decrease) a hedron below it’s minimum energy with Spike or a basic attack and you can increase a hedron beyond it’s maximum energy with Boost. If you rolled a 19 for your flux result with a d20, you’d simply put a hedron of your choice up to maximum.


Does Self-Destruct damage my own hedron(s)?

Yes. Self-destruct does damage equal to the flux result to the attacking hedron (that is, the hedron making the attack) and all adjacent hedrons. You can destroy your own hedron this way and get negative points, but if you play and roll well this can be one of the most effective ways to get a lot of points in a single turn.

Current Hexes

What happens when a hedron would be pushed by a Current Hex onto an already occupied hex?

They merely stop in the last unoccupied hex in the Current Hex sequence.

Can you discard a card to stop your movement on a Current Hex and end your movement while still on a Current Hex?

Yes, if you would end your movement (through the chain or through being rammed) on a Current Hex, you can discard a card to ignore the effect of the Current Hex. You can do this on the first or any subsequent Current Hex, essentially allowing you to choose where you stop on the line of sequential Current Hexes, at the cost of a card. Current Hexes are always resolved immediately when entering the hex, nothing happens to a hedron that stays on the Current Hex, once you’ve managed to stop the river of energy merely flows past you.

Can you voluntarily end a chain in a hex adjacent to a friendly and unactivated hedron?

Yes. You can end the chain whenever you please. Transferring energy, whether to continue the chain or to make an attack, is always optional.

Copyright © 2013 Kotzur-Yang Creative